Shahid Afridi Announces 16 Players Name for ODI Series against NZ

June 4, 2023


Shahid Afridi Announces 16 Players Name for ODI Series against NZ

Shaeran Rufus

KARACHI: Shahid Afridi, interim Selector in a press conference revealed 16 squad names for three day ODI series against New Zealand played to be in Karachi. Babar Azam as captain, Fakhar Zaman as an opening batter, Haris Sohail as middle-order batter, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir, Shan Masood, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Rizwan as a wicketkeeper, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Wasim JR, and Naseem Shah.

The series commences on 9, 11, and 13 January in Karachi.  The chief selector said Shadab Khan has not been selected as he is unfit due to a finger injury. Shahid Afridi, interim chairman of selectors said, team management was not consulted for the players.

Afridi about Babar as a Captain

We want him to give his opinion, we gave him (Babar) options, and we also ask for his opinion. Moreover, he said, “We want to make him a better captain, so the combination required of the team is very important”.

Afridi added that the captain has another role, and the selection committee has another role. “I don’t think we are on one page, as we have our responsibilities, Babar has its own and as a captain”.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *