189 Filed For the Nomination of NA Seats in Karachi

June 4, 2023


189 Filed For the Nomination of NA Seats in Karachi

Shaeran Rufus

KARACHI: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced on Wednesday that it had received 189 candidate nomination forms for the nine National Assembly seats that will have by-elections in Karachi on March 16.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) submitted forms for Mustafa Kamal, Dr Farooq Sattar, Dr Sagheer Ahmed, and Rauf Siddiqui. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) submitted forms for Ali Haider Zaidi, Saifur Rehman, Attaullah, Aslam Khan, Najeeb Haroon, Aftab Jahangir, and Alamgir Khan.

Prominent candidates from the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) include Shehla Raza, Shahida Rehmani, Iqbal Sandh, Asad Alam Niazi, and Khawaja Sohail. Other political parties and independent candidates will also participate in the by-elections.

According to the ECP, 24 candidates filed forms in NA-241, 19 in NA 242, 17 in NA-243, 19 in NA-244, 24 in NA-247, 19 in NA-250, 24 in NA-252, 23 in NA-254, and 19 forms were received in NA-256. The list of candidates will be released on February 9, and the documents will be evaluated until February 13.

Objections can be submitted until February 16 regarding the acceptance or rejection of the forms. Decisions on these objections must be made by February 20, with the revised list of candidates released on February 21. Candidates can withdraw their forms until February 22, with election symbols allotted on February 23 and voting taking place on March 16.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *